Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: New owner in UK
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
neilbardsley
After some scum bag burnt my 912 in January. We have just book a73 1.7.

It has been a project that some else has been working on.

I'm based in the Midlands. I try to spanner my cars. I'm not an expert but I will have a go.

Here is the advert

https://www.ddk-online.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=67251

There are a couple of issues but the main ones are

- gear linkage needs adjusting. 1st is hard to get into.
From the previous owner

Gearbox - I have refreshed the gearbox oil, refreshed a lot of the linkage bushings etc, aswell as replacing the seals on the gearbox selector shaft. It
probably needs a few drives to optimise the coupling alignments.
I have also replaced the reverse switch pin which is a common fault, so reverse lights work correctly.

I've never tried adjusting linkage before. Is there a guide?

- the rear truck isn't sealing well. The back left and right covers are sitting too high and not sealing with the body. I tried adjusting the latch but didn't help? Any ideas?

- The Targa top at the rear on the drivers size is seating too high. This means there is a small gap between the window and seal. There is a pin that should be pulled down by a hoop from the latch but it isn't moving the top down much. It took quite a lot of work just to get it on

- I need to do a tune up as it's idling rough and not responsive. This is my first time without carbs and an injection system but I guess the basics are the same. Valve, points timing?

Thank you for any help

IPB Image
mepstein
welcome.png
Mikey914
welcome.png your in the right place.
Just start one project at a time and you'll get lots of help here.
Welcome
914-300Hemi
welcome.png
dt4
Hi Neil, I'm also on DDK
Tdskip
Welcome.

Searching like this on Google will give you lots of background “914world
.com how adjust shift linkage”. Drop the quotes.