Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: How to remove push rod tubes?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Air_Cooled_Nut
The seals on the tubes need to be replaced. The #4 exhaust one is leaking right in front of me and the engine hasn't been run for a year. All my manuals say don't use pliers so how are they removed? Rocker arms, retaining wire and push rods are out. It wiggles a smidge but I can't get a real grip on them and they seem to be stuck to the block.

This is my first time replacing the seals so any other recommendations are appreciated. Right now I'm just trying to get the left side done wacko.gif
Joe Bob
Remove pushrods..... wink.gif

Take a pair of vice grips or channel locks, lightly clamp onto tube, twist and push....should pop right out.
ejm
agree.gif I always use slip joint pliers...just don't crush the tube
ChrisFoley
QUOTE (ejm @ Jul 17 2005, 02:40 PM)
agree.gif I always use slip joint pliers...just don't crush the tube

I use a set of small curved jaw vise grips and twist back and forth at the same time as pulling outwards.
You can put tape or a paper towel between the jaws and the tubes to help prevent damage.
Air_Cooled_Nut
I'm trying but the slip-joints are slippin' sad.gif I'm afraid I might be better off getting new tubes and just sacrificing the current ones.
Air_Cooled_Nut
Okay, at $5/each and me without a job maybe I'll try a firmer grasp.
Dave_Darling
So far, I've been able to remove mine just using my bare hands. Well, I used my bare hands the first time. Then, after washing them and applying several band-aids, I started wearing heavy work gloves when removing them. Smashing your fingers into the back of the cylinder head will tend to make you more cautious...

--DD
Air_Cooled_Nut
I got the #4 tubes out. I think I was on the very edge of crushing them but they came out a little scuffed but still round mueba.gif