Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 914/6 engine mount mishmash
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Tdskip
Good morning and thanks for the help yesterday on the oil tank lines.

Can I ask for some help in figuring out what I’ve got going on here. This looks to me like an early design/replica of the factory 914/6 amount but it does not want to work with the work mount that actually bolts on to the engine.

When I did a test fit they don’t bolt up properly and the black engine side mount won’t fit vertically and is forced to be offset/angled which isn’t right of course.

So either the grey mount is off, the black mount is the wrong one, or these aren’t compatible. I’m not experienced enough to spot the issue, my hunch is the grey mount is OK and the black engine side is incorrect but that is a guess.

Thanks for any help you can offer.

Click to view attachment
Click to view attachment
Tdskip
Click to view attachment Click to view attachment
Superhawk996
That definately is not the 914/6 OEM factory style mount.

Others will chime in. Isn't that an old style Rich Johnson mount (body side)?

MadDog makes something similar and the engine side sort of looks like his. However his body side is quite different.

If it's not lining up, I'm inclined to agree you have some sort of mismatch maybe between body side and engine side.

As I look a the picture more, part of the engine side mount looks OEM stamped. It takes some serious tooling to deep draw thick metal like that.

Usually the aftermarket engine side fabrications are plate metal welded, not stamped (incduding MadDog). Then on the other side, I see welds that I don't believe are OEM and maybe a couple little stiffening gussets that don't look OEM. Could someone have taken a 911 side mount and have modified it to try to work with the body side and/or maybe a slightly different body side mount? Just guessing.
930cabman
Have you contacted the manufacturer?