Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Paint codes
914World.com > The 914 Forums > Originality and History
AzGuy238
Hi, I'm kinda new to the 914 restoration hobby. I recently purchased a 1971 914-6 that has the valances and rockers painted very poorly (looks like a cheap rattle can). Are there any prefered colors or paint codes I should use in repainting these. I'd like them to be as close to original as possible. Thanks
Cairo94507
QUOTE(AzGuy238 @ May 17 2021, 12:25 PM) *

Hi, I'm kinda new to the 914 restoration hobby. I recently purchased a 1971 914-6 that has the valances and rockers painted very poorly (looks like a cheap rattle can). Are there any prefered colors or paint codes I should use in repainting these. I'd like them to be as close to original as possible. Thanks

Hi @AzGuy238 - I have a '71 Six as well, 0372. We refinished my rockers and valances with a satin black. They do not have any of the rubberized finishes you see on some cars. BTW, what is your VIN?
Cheers,
Michael
aturboman
I just went through this process on my early 1970 914-6.

Rear valance inner finish is original only re-painted out side was re-textured and re-painted.

Both my original rockers and front valance had a thin coat of texture on them; light tan color similar to 911 fuel tanks only much lighter in coverage.

The texture was duplicated with Wurth body Schutz in tan and painted with SEM satin black trim paint from a gun.

A notable difference is that the rockers have a finer texture than the valances.

Also I have an original paint rocker from a 1975 car that has no texture so it appears they changed during production undoubtedly to save money.

With the re-plated original hardware they are like new.

A lot of work to get them right but the results are stunning in person, photos don't do them justice.

Click to view attachment Click to view attachmentClick to view attachment
aturboman
Here is the rear valance backside before painting, after pressure washing.