Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 915 gearbox cradle off the shelf ?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
vfe95
Hi there,
First of all, apologizes if information alreday on the forum, I'm not an expert of search engine wink.gif
I'm in restauration process of my 914 with GT flares, roll cage, chassis stifening, front cooler etc... and a 3.2 flat6 with custom efi biggrin.gif ... and so a 915 gearbox; my question concern this last subject:
I plan to install a cable shifter there : http://cableshift.com/915/915%20page.html , prefered to wevo/velios/bugat5speed kits, because of price ... and also the feeling that cable will be a more efficient/soft solution (free to locate shifter, no bad effect of motor movement on its bushings)
So, I have to build a cradle for the back of the 915 box, and I wonder if this part exists somewhere "off the shelf"; it will gain some time if so; nota: I would like to keep the bushings
Other question: the 915 I bought is a aluminium SC, so with elecronic tachy; for the same reason, does it exists a diff flange with a hole to relocate the tachy sensor "off the shelf" , in order to follow the diff rollover; if not, I will be obliged to drill it and weld something with my TIG, risky on alu

>Thanks for your advices
Vincent / France
mepstein
PMS - Patrick Motor Sports, used to make a transmission hanger. I had one as well as a cable shifter. I sold it for two reasons. 1. The cable shifter was very loose and imprecise. 2. The shaft from the transmission sticks far out the back of the car, necessitating twin mufflers instead of a conventional rear muffler. PMS no longer sells the hanger or the cable shifter.
vfe95
Thanks for your quick reply Mepstein, appreciated smile.gif

... I knew that cable shifter impose a splitted muffler but that didn't stress me ... but the fact that you had a negative feedback on accuracy of cable shift is of more concern for me... -> I'm in deep preoccupation consequently idea.gif