Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: How to value a track car
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
mihai914
Hi to everyone.

A local PCA member decided to sell his track dedicated 914. It's kind of tempting because it's a sweet combo but I have no experience on how to value a dedicated track car.

It's a 76 AZ tub with fibreglass flares, windshield is still there. It has a pre variorum 993 engine with a G-50 tranny and cable shifter. Most conversion parts are from Patrick Motorsports. Engine oil tank is up front.

The car has no racing pedigree.

Full roll cage, no more dash or any interior. No idea on the brakes, probably big reds.

I'm not into racing, but I see the car as a good starting point for a GT Clone.

Anyone can give me some pointers on how to value the car? Sum of parts, penny on the dollar invested? From what I've seen, track cars usually sell in parts or without the engine and tranny.

Thanks for the help.
mb911
Well here is the deal. The 993 engine is probably worth 20k itself. I also am not into racing so could not value the rest of the car as most would have to be changed for street use.

Pictures?
GregAmy
It's a crap shoot.

First, does it have "provenance"? For example, was it raced by Hans Stuck at Daytona?

Second, absent historical significance, it's pretty much a stack of parts. Race cars are generally worth significantly less than comparable street cars, and a bit less than their part-out value.

Third, what's the market? What is it prepped for? Will it be a fun track day car or will it be a PCA car that's highly competitive in its class? The former is worth even less, the latter maybe even more.