Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 914-6 steering column
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
914racer
Does anyone have an original 914 steering column out of their car? It would great to see a few pictures and some measurements to confirm what I plan on doing.
I am restoring a 71 914 to a 6. I plan on installing a 911 steering column and left hand igintion switch. I have found a 73 911 column that I thought wound fit without modifications. I think a column from a 72 or earlier would have worked. Since I have the 73 column I plan on modifying it but would like to confirm the exact dimensions.
Thanks
mepstein
I just did this. The bracket on the 73 column will not fit your early car. You need a plate from @gcrotvik to make the early 911 column fit your early car. You also need early 911 column switches.

Gold plate is 73 column
Silver plate is custom made to fit 70-71 column

Try the later column on your early car and you will see the difference.

I’m no expert in the conversion but I just helped the Porsche shop where I used to work figure this out on a 1971 six conversion so its still fresh in my mind. The different mounting plate size was a surprise to all of us until Greg/gcrotvik showed me the proper details. If he has any left, pay him whatever he asks. I went to a machine shop to have one made and they quoted hundreds of dollars and then said they were too busy at any price.
sixnotfour
Or if you have your 70-71 -4 column ,,cut the plate of it...
914Sixer
70-71 has NO Plate, it is VW Typ 311 Column. Cut the 73 plate down to size
mepstein
QUOTE(914Sixer @ Oct 3 2021, 02:47 PM) *

70-71 has NO Plate, it is VW Typ 311 Column. Cut the 73 plate down to size

Yea. It’s all molded metal. I’ll dig out the two plates and see where the holes on the early mount fall on the later plate.

It’s not an inexpensive conversion. Ballpark pricing;
Early steerer column 200-300
911 ignition with key 200-300
911 plastic clamshell 100-200