Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: MD or DE eastern shore? Help needed w/ high idle : (
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
DC_neun_vierzehn
I have a '73 2.0 D-jet. Motor is fresh 2056 rebuild. I had amazing help from @Cupomeat re-installing the motor and trans back in Northern Virginia, but now the car is back with me in Rehoboth, Delaware. It's currently idling at 2,200 RPMs. Eric posted a thread trying to solve this while the car was still back in VA - the suggestions helped reduce the high idle from 3k to 2k, it didn't solve the issue. Thread here.

I've searched and read through countless posts here on 914 World trying to ID the problem, but no luck so far. Some of that could be on me (I'm still learning the D-Jet and working on motors in general).

Is anybody nearby (I'm in Rehoboth, DE) that might be able to help ?

I'm willing to drive to you. I recall seeing some members on the board being close , but I cannot recall who they were (someone was in Easton, MD another was in Annapolis, MD, another was in Georgetown, DE, etc.).

Case of beer on me if you can help.

beer3.gif
MDTerp
@beatnavy is in Easton and he also has a 2056 with D-Jet.
BeatNavy
Yeah, Mike is right. I'm in Easton. I can probably help if you want to come this way sometime. I'm pretty flexible on time. I'll be in Rehobeth in September, but not with my tools (unless you count flip flops and cooler as "tools" smile.gif ).

The thread link you posted didn't work for me. High idle is almost always a vacuum leak or sometimes idle too far advanced.
brant
Double check timing
Spray carb cleaner for idle leaks
Suspect a cracked plenum
Idle screw???
DC_neun_vierzehn
QUOTE(BeatNavy @ Aug 10 2023, 05:48 PM) *

Yeah, Mike is right. I'm in Easton. I can probably help if you want to come this way sometime. I'm pretty flexible on time. I'll be in Rehobeth in September, but not with my tools (unless you count flip flops and cooler as "tools" smile.gif ).