Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 3.6 993 engine installed into factory SIX
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
jim dorociak
Guys I am collecting parts for my restoration. My car came without a drivetrain so I am looking at a collection of parts and what makes the most sense. I have 90% of a 95 993 engine that I have been collecting - one side of me says high compression dual plug, hydraulic lifters, torque and turn the key it starts right up without any drama. Or a short stroke - and you know where this goes - dual plug, special distributor, P/C's (not cheap) Carbs probably new PMO 46 (also quite a bill) and then the exhaust system with heat.

Does the factory front motor mount work on a 993 engine? I know the tin has to be married from 914-6 and 993 engine tin.

jdorociak@gmail.com

Jim
sixaddict
Jim:
I am not an expert but to me using a Patrick style mount is better that stock six….
It spreads the mounting wider which is probably good with the additional torque generated by 3.6. The car I had and my son now has, has been using this for years…..to me it’s also easiest to install engine IMO.
Have seen a 3.6 that was autocrossed tear up a smaller set up although can’t vouch for welding.
Just my 2 cents

SirAndy
This might give you some ideas ...
http://www.914world.com/bbs2/index.php?showtopic=44700

bye1.gif
sixaddict
A P S…..add stiffening before you need it due to fatigue.
targa72e
Engine choice and mounting is one thing. I think there are plenty of mounting options that would work fine with higher HP engine. Bigger question is do you have the appropriate transmission to back up your engine choice. The minimum I would think as appropriate for 3.6 engine would be a 915 transmission. Cost to fit to a 914 is fairly larger. All my current Porsche projects are transmission limited. The cost to go to the next level upgrade is quite large in all my cases.

john
ClayPerrine
Some things I have found, and I have been there, done that.