Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 3.2l conversion died on a ride
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
jim912928
Took out the 914 and it just stopped cold during the drive. It appears the fuel pump is not running. I did tow it back and ran some rudimentary electrical tests (I'm not good at wiring). I get no power to the fuel pump. I then pulled the dme relay and I do get 12v on 30, 12v on 86, no voltage on 87 or 87b.

This is an 84 3.2l

thoughts?
worn
QUOTE(jim912928 @ Sep 10 2023, 12:39 PM) *

Took out the 914 and it just stopped cold during the drive. It appears the fuel pump is not running. I did tow it back and ran some rudimentary electrical tests (I'm not good at wiring). I get no power to the fuel pump. I then pulled the dme relay and I do get 12v on 30, 12v on 86, no voltage on 87 or 87b.

This is an 84 3.2l

thoughts?

The infamous dme relay. I was happily driving along last month when the engine simply stopped. Had a spare relay, swapped it in and off I went. I bought a solid state relay as a replacement, and have an OEM relay strapped to it as a spare.
r_towle
Two things I did after towing home my 84 911
I bought two dme relays, one for the car, one for tge glove box.
Second thing is I built a three wire (wire but three wires together on one end) jumper with flat spade connectors on the ends.

Google the relay
Power comes in on one line, goes out to two lines.
This is my ultra spare, get me home thing.

Rich
jim912928
Thanks all….looked up the relay pinouts and will try that bypass this evening.
SirAndy
+1 for the DME relay.

I always carry a spare with me. Well, not me, but the car.
smash.gif
ClayPerrine
DME relays have suckdilliuckucked since their invention. They were the evolution of the L-Jet double relay that was on the 914 and other VW cars.