Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Welding advice
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Pages: 1, 2
Deusexmachina77
I have to weld in a new front trunk pan replacing the hole left from an AC unit. I have taken two MIG classes. Beside being a newbie, I have other limitations to consider.

I don’t have access to a 220 line.
I’m inexperienced.
It would cost me $1000 to have it professionally done. And I don’t want to buy a bunch of equipment for one job.

Can I use a flux welder? There a couple cheap units at Harbor Freight (under $150) on sale right now. What don’t I know that I should know?

Thanks welder.gif
Shivers
Just patching the hole, absolutely. I do all sorts of stuff with rosin core wire. Get a good mini grinder and flapper wheels for it. It is messy. I have a handful of small pieces of sheet copper to mask off anything machined or sensitive.
iankarr
Get a 120v Hobart Handler. U can set it up for mig or flux. It will be far less than 1K and be useful for years. I’d go right for the mig setup. Not a big deal to get a tank.
Superhawk996
May I suggest you’ve asked the wrong question.

Can you . . . Yes.

Should you use a cheap sub $150 HF flux core unit? No.

Why or why not?

Flux core spatter is going to be a mess and will be a PITA to clean up all the splatter.

The cheaper the unit, the harder it is to get a decent weld. Cheap units tend to have limited control over welding current and wire speed. They also tend to have issues with the wire feed mechanism that results in wire slippage or worse yet, jamming and birds’ nesting. Can be very frustrating.

I’d bet with a little searching, you can find a nice used 120v Hobart Handler or Lincoln weld pack 140 in the $250-350 range. As stated by Ian, the ability to use shielding gas is a huge upgrade and even if you choose not to use gas right now, it’s huge as your skills progress.

Bottom line: the cheaper the welder may impair your learning and is more likely to frustrate you.
930cabman