Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: HISTORY LESSON
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
ninefourteener
914 club....

Get this, Scott Air Force Base is having a base-wide picnic this Friday, and I was asked to show my teener at a very small car-show for military only.

Here's the kicker..... I get the day off, but I have to write a brief, 1 page "history" on the car. I think this is because several schools will be visiting... not sure.

Anyway... I AM NOT AN EXPERT. This is what I came up with. Some things might be right, some things might be completely wrong.... but I did the best I could.

I know.. kinda stupid, but I could really use your help on this. Considering I own maybe 1 of 4 or 5 in the entire Saint Louis area, I want it to sound good.

So.. I need some constructive critisism. Text posted on the next page.............
ninefourteener
The Porsche 914 was built from 1970 to 1976. It was a joint effort between Porsche and Volkswagen to build a small, lightweight, 2 seater to compete with the European sportscars of the day (MG, Triumph, Jaguar). Porsche designed and engineered the car, but to keep costs down, Volkswagen manufactured it. Almost everything externally visible is Porsche, and almost everything not visible (engine, drivetrain, etc) is Volkswagen.

Although the 914 was never “blisteringly” powerful, it dominated the competition, due to its exceptional handling characteristics. The mid-engine, mid-seated, wide wheelbase design, coupled with nearly 50/50 weight distribution, extremely low center of gravity, and incredibly low Gross vehicle weight (1900 lbs) enabled the 914 to take sharp curves much quicker than any other comparable vehicles built during the same time period, including many ultra-expensive Italian exotics.