Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Engine Pad
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
VWnDRAG
Hey, Hi everyone. I'm a newbie. Joined this morning but have had the car since 1983. Its a 75 1.8 - white. I found this site a couple weeks ago after hitting the tire store. blink.gif I guess they dont make 165SR15's any more. But, thats a question for another day. Riviera rim rub. What I need to take care of first is the engine pad. Does anybody know what's the best adhesive to use? I've never been able to get a good bond that lasts. It's starting to peel again on the dirvers side and only being held up by the fan hose. confused24.gif
Thanks.
Tom

SirAndy
QUOTE (VWnDRAG @ Sep 23 2005, 05:36 PM)
I've never been able to get a good bond that lasts.

if you can live without the added noise reduction, i'd rip it out.

they're a moisture trap and usually, after all these years, the firewall is pretty much rusted through at the bottom of the pad on almost all cars i have seen ...

no idea on the adhesive tho ...

oh, and welcome to the club!
smilie_pokal.gif Andy
Joe Bob
3M spray adhesive....appbiz on ebay and at Pelican makes a replacement pad...he cut one from an oem one I had a few years back.
Tobra
Mine is missing the plastic washer/screw deal to secure this, anyone know of one from another application to use there?
McMark
QUOTE (Tobra @ Sep 23 2005, 05:12 PM)
Mine is missing the plastic washer/screw deal to secure this, anyone know of one from another application to use there?

NAPA has a product in their Balkamp line. It has a "christmas tree" with a large face. Works really well.
jniemeier
I glued my pad in a couple years ago with Wurth Spray Adhesive. I think 3M Super Adhesive would be another good option. Mine has stayed perfectly in place with the Wurth spray. Those round plastic christmas tree retainer deals are available in the hardware drawers at Home Depot, Lowes, etc. Our store had several sizes.
driving.gif Jim N.
'73 2.0
Allan