Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Problems with second gear...
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
jari-jodokus
Hello , this is my first appearance here...so i hope i have done it properly.

I have a '75 914 , 'sideshifter' .Pretty sudden my second gear (coming down from 5,4,3) crunches and i have to wait a few seconds...and then it goes well.
So normally it is the synchro....? Or is it really posible that some clutch problems can cause this?(Why not the other gears?) , and coming out of the first gear there are no problems at all.
I think the synchro is worn , please confirm...i am not that experienced and there is no 914-forum anymore in Holland snif snif.
Thanks and greetings from the Netherlands!
Kees Blom , Apeldoorn , Holland

By the way this fellow called 'Brad' is the reason i am now really driving it in stead of selling it in an early restoration-stage.....i will allways be gratefull...and my FI works perfectly , for 100 dollar only , thanks to his site and advice!
redshift
Yes, sounds like it.

Double clutch, and fix it very soon.

2nd is the most 'shifted into' gear, and usually has problems first, with normal wear.

M
jari-jodokus
Oke , thanks a lot for the quick answer ... i just use the third gear now when slowing down.
Is it an expensive repair?

(by the way , his name is Paul Brad Anders)
airsix
You could also need a clutch cable adjustement. If it has started doing this "suddenly" it would be a good idea to inspect the condition of the clutch tube where it comes out of the firewall (engine compartment) and where it is attached inside the tunnel next to the shifter.

Even baddly worn synchros won't cause excessive grinding if the clutch is fully releasing.

-Ben M.
mightyohm
Also make sure you're not nicking reverse. I had one of the set screws in my shift linkage back out and for a while I started nicking reverse badly until finally the screw fell out...
URY914