Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: More Power
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
19144jt
Hi,
I've got a 1975 1.8 that still runs pretty good but is getting tired. I am tryng hard to keep the car original so I would like to keep the fuel injection. When I rebuild the engine, am I limited to staying stock (for purposes of keeping the fuel injection) or are there some things I can do to get mild (or better) HP increases and not have to carburete? Any ideas would be appreciated.

John
dlo914
im not quite sure, but i was headed in this direction before i found a mid-life FI 2L. i was going to have the jugs bored out to a total of 1911cc, and then go w/ the 96mm kenneth black pistons. As for the crank and arms i was told to find some off a 2L. I was also told the stock 1.7 FI system would be able to compensate for the extra CC's. But then what do i know..im still a newbie wacko.gif smile.gif
Mueller
backdate the exhaust to a '73/'74 2.0 or install 1.7/1.8/2.0 SSI stainless steel heat exhangers

if in good condition, re-bore to 96mm to get to a 1911 (Jake Rabys shop can do that and supply the pistons)

not too much more can be done, the AFM does not like wild cams.....
Al Meredith
I've got a set of 1.8L euro pistons. They are NEW in the box and have a domb on top just like the 1.7 piston. The high compression will work with the stock FI. I really want to sell them with a set of rebuilt 1.8 heads. They have opened up exhaust ports and duel valve springs. Len Hoffman installed oversized seats to be used with the duel springs. For $850 I will through in a set of lightened rods. Al
sean_v8_914
I ran 96 mm flat top pistons on my 1.8 L-Jet. I liked it. that car lives in WA now
bottomend
the absolute easiest way to gain HP is to have the entire rotating assembley balenced. This allows for less friction. Less friction allows for less heat. Less heat means more HP. More HP means more VAROOOOMMMMMM!