Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Distributor choice for 2.0 w/ webers
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
bribar
I am new to 914's. I just purchased a 73 2.0. piratenanner.gif

The car has what the PO referred to as a 3/4 cam. It also has dual Weber carburators.

The car has the original Vaccum advance disrtibutor, with the vaccum advance mechanism hooked up to one of the webers.

The car starts right up and idles fine. It seems like it is missing until 3K then it seems to pull hard and run smooth.

What is the best distributor choice for a 2.0 with webers and a cam?

009, 050 like my 356, 010?

Is there any chance this old Vaccum advance dizzy is gonna work?

Thanks,

Brian
Aaron Cox
3/4 cam = 270 degree duration? (guessing)

mallory unilite dizzy is the best bar-none. optical pickup, no more points. set it to 12 deg initial, 28 ish final advance with the grey grey spring combo (all advance in by 3k)

You will FEEL a difference.

mallory is the best, but 050's and 009's have been used

what jetting? could be part of the "missing"
lapuwali
What's this "old vacuum advanced dizzy"? Any part number on it? Have you check it's advance curve with a timing light? It could just sticky advance weights.

Your symptoms actually sound a lot like a blocked idle jet, which is VERY common with IDFs. So common, you should learn how to clean them, and expect to reclean them periodically. If it is an idle jet, then check your fuel tank for rust and dirt, and change your fuel filter.
TravisNeff
your stock FI distributor is a lot better than the 009 or 050. The 009 has something like 15 degrees of advance, the 050 has a lot more advance.
lotus_65
if the timing is set right, you'd think it would run ok...

mine did the same until i put smaller choke tubes back in. it had 32mm's and i put 28's in, cleared it right up. now i'm looking for cheap 30's because i lost some power doing this.