Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Questions about stock HEs
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
lincoln
exhaust is apart , looking at my stock HEs and where they are welded to pipes all welds are basically broken and they rattle a bit ( never notice it when they are on car) question is because they are VERY heavy, would i really need the HEs on the car? i know i hate not having any heat in winter, as well as no defroster to clear windows, but i was thinking of taking the HEs to work, cutting off all the exchanger tubing , and just running the pipes without them for now. i could also just re-weld them, but i was curious to know if anyone had re-fabbed HEs using aluminum for its light weight , welder/fab by trade so wouldnt be that hard for me to do, and then id have to fab a way to attach them, but weight savings would be nice , and i doubt they would melt . I know SS is way everyone suggests but i REALLY dont like the heaviness of the stock type HEs.
TROJANMAN
what year is your car?
75-76 HE's are super heavy
the ssi's i have are not too heavy
sounds like you need some headers
Mueller
I doubt you will save much weight by removing the sheetmetal, the tubes are where all weight is.

the SSIs are lighter since with stainless you can use a thinner gauge material yet still have an exhaust that will last.
lincoln
car is a 74 , was a thought , seems like the HEs part weighs a LOT more than the actual muffler part and that was with monza style exhausts , i thought originally it was the muffler part that weighed so damn much but having taken that part off i noticed how heavy the HE parts are

was thinking that i could fab alum box HE boxes kinda like tangerine has for the /6s only out of luminum and attach them sort of like M/C mufflers do on my Suzuki Marauder - that is using mesh,sealing screen tape stuff and some serious clamping clamps for a good seal
Mueller
oh yea, i'm pretty sure the heat shields should NOT be welded directly to the tubes