Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Can someone instruct me on the application of large decals?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Series9
I just started installing the decal on my top.

No matter how careful I am, each piece comes out full of bubbles.

I'm pretty sure I just trashed a $100 decal. headbang.gif
brant
don't pop them with a sewing pin.
it seems like the quick and easy solution but actually causes tears a couple of months later.

you need to sit the car out in the hot sun and get it really hot.
you need a squeege and to keep working them once its good and hot.
you can usually get 80% of them out that way...

don't pop them.
brant
SGB
would one want to keep the surface wet while working out the bubbles? I used to work in a shop where we screened big decals, and the material used was pretty porous- water soaked through easily. We put a little dish soap in the water too. I remember the whole sheets would slide around pretty easily. I was always surprised that the "trapped" liquid dried out, but it did.
Trekkor
out in the hot sun and get it really hot.

I heard just the opposite from the vinyl installer at Racer's Group. confused24.gif
They do ALL their installs in the cool shop, out of the sunlight unsure.gif

For me, the key is lots of water. Spray the surfaces that get it and the back of the stickers.

Once you have it positioned, spray the release paper and get it fully saturated. Start to squeegee from the inside-out.

After you lift the realease paper, use a soft object ( felt block ) to push the trapped air and water out from under the vinyl without scratching the design.

Works for me...

KT
736conver
Have you tried the wet method or are you just sticking it on dry.
Usually does a pretty good job.
Engman
How to apply decals

Look at the video in the link at the bottom.

M
rick 918-S