Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Does the engine need all those shrouds?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
I am new to air cooled Porsche, as I currently run with the Porsche water coolers. My 1.7 needs rebuilding, and where is a good place to find a complete overhaul kit for it? I need cylinders, heads, pistons, and gaskets. I would stick in a Lycoming I built, but I don't think it would perform very well on the street. I just want a running motor, not some hot 2.0 liter. I have other Porsche's for my speed needs. Also, I know all the metal around the motor routes air, but is it really that effective? And is it structural, as in it is part of the mounting for the engine? I have heard three stories about air cooled engines- it will overheat without shrouds, it runs same without shroud, and it runs cooler without shroud. I was thinking about mounting electric fans on the under side of the engine cover to extract hot air as well. Anybody try that out yet?
sean_v8_914
Welcome to the 914(non) club!
this site and Pelicanparts.com are the best online sources for porsche technical data. I have built entire cars from teh information found here.
porsche engineering invested alot of time and money into developing that cooling system . the more complete it is, the better it works. do not omit and pieces.

the facts are:
yes, it WILL overheat and selfdestruct without the cooling tins

if it runs without the shrouds, it will not last very long if under load

Pelican is a great place for parts
Twystd1
If this is a street car. Not a pure track car.

And you are NOT going to put an after market cooling system on your engine.

The answer is: YES you should keep ALL the cooling tin on your engine.

And welcome to the club 521401.

Check out the SEARCH function on this BBS.

Put in DTM, or Shroud, or engine tin, etc.

You will have hours of learning to do.

Then you will have your answer with clarity.

SEARCH function is your friend.