Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: OT: Shopping for a Vanagon...
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Pages: 1, 2
Series9
Who are the Vanagon experts here?

I'm aware of some of the problems with the Wasserboxers, but I would like to hear from any experts.

I don't need a Syncro or Westy. Luckie and I just need a practical vehicle that's bigger than our 914s.

The Scirocco and GTI are going up for sale.

Thanks.
McMark
Subaru swap? happy11.gif
warrenporsche
QUOTE(Series9 @ Oct 12 2006, 05:26 PM) *

I'm aware of some of the problems with the Wasserboxers, but I would like to hear from any experts.

I don't need a Syncro or Westy. Luckie and I just need a practical vehicle that's bigger than our 914s.

The Scirocco and GTI are going up for sale.

Thanks.

I am a mechanic at a VW dealership, TRUST ME. you do not want a vanagon, we will not even take them in to work on!! I heartily recommend either buying an asian or domestic van, or holding out until "Project M"- our new minivan arrives next year as a 2008.
dlo914
any pics of the Scirocco and GTI?
Cap'n Krusty
I work on 'em, and I love 'em! In fact, I have an 85 you could have cheap, if you wanna do a Subie swap. Presentable, but not running. If you wanna do the motor, I can supply a good core in the deal. BTW, our family 84 vanagon gets used by EVERYBODY, and gets little care in return. 10 years without any major problems. The Cap'n
Series9
QUOTE(dlo914 @ Oct 12 2006, 07:42 PM) *

Here's the S1 16V. You don't want the GTI.

Tobra
Why not get a VW camper and put a built type IV in it
Just gotta find a rust free one

or not welder.gif
VegasRacer
QUOTE(Series9 @ Oct 12 2006, 06:26 PM) *

If you want a van - Get a VAN.
You can get a nice Chevy for cheap.
Series9
QUOTE(warrenporsche @ Oct 12 2006, 07:42 PM) *

I am a mechanic at a VW dealership, TRUST ME. you do not want a vanagon, we will not even take them in to work on!!

Gotta love the dealership. They fuck ya comin' and goin'.