Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Ceramic or Powder Coat?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
martinef1963
Dropped of my SS heat exchangers and associated parts to get them powder coated last Friday. The guy called me today and asked me, "how hot does your engine run?"

I gave him my standard rookie, "donno!" confused24.gif I asked why and he began to explain the chemical composition, which at that point I felt even more confused, but I got the gist of his message.

"If the engine runs hotter than 350 for more than 15 minutes the powder coat start to lose it chemical composition..." WOW! I'm a chemist and didn't even know it.. givemebeer.gif In addition, I'm in a penny pinchin math mode - $400.00 cermaic he said.

So my question to the forum, experts, 914 gods is: Can the powder coat handle the heat on my teener? And what is the benefits, if any, of going ceramic?

Keep in mind this is going to be a quasi daily driver - no street roddin, okay - unless there are nice looking skirts around... driving.gif

Any QUICK responses would be helpful.

regards

Fernando
Jeroen
first off... I don't understand why you'd want to caot SS heatexchangers
but if you insist... ceremic
martinef1963
QUOTE(Jeroen @ Dec 4 2006, 10:17 AM) *

first off... I don't understand why you'd want to caot SS heatexchangers
but if you insist... ceremic

I like to clean up the bottom and think this will give be softer on the eyes. However, would like to know your opinion on why ceramic vs powder coat, and the max engine heat temp if you know them.

thanks,
G e o r g e
they make a higher temp powder if looks are all your worried about

do a search on here for " powder coatings" you should find the info, i want to say

the company is Carolina something, alleast i remember something with a C

StratPlayer
Columbia Coatings sells high temp powder.
martinef1963