Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: E85
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
zen motorcycle
Has anyone looked into what it would take to rebuild an engine to make it E85 compatible. I hear it is supposed to make more HP than 10% sounds like a good way to pick up some added HP's

Just wondering
Crazyhippy
e-85 has less energy per gallon than reg gas, so your mileage will go down.

The re-build would require new rubber throughout (including inside the fuel pump and injectors) as e-85 eats regular rubber.

BJH
bondo
Making it work is no biggie, taking advantage of the ability to make a little more power probably is a biggie. I'm no expert, but I'm guessing you'd have to at least change the compression ratio.
messix
head temps would go down!
alpha434
Big compression difference to get comparable horsepower, efficiency

But I was thinking the same thing.......

and by the time you get the same h.p., you're making the same amount of heat.
messix
QUOTE(alpha434 @ Dec 7 2006, 05:46 PM) *

Big compression difference to get comparable horsepower, efficiency

But I was thinking the same thing.......

and by the time you get the same h.p., you're making the same amount of heat.

no so young one.

you can go up to 12-13/1 compression with e-85 to get "some more power" on the t-4 maybe 10hp worth.

fuel consumption will still be higher than straight gas.

the evaporative nature of all alcohol fuel and the lower cumbustion temps will not get as hot as with gas fuel.

800hp 410ci sprint cars run a stupid small radiator and no fan, and still have a hard time getting heat in the the engine.
messix
e85 might be the turbo friendly fuel for t-4s.

Jake any thoughts or tests planed?
Crazyhippy
still will have the normal turbo problems... the heads will still try to seperate from the cylinders under boost, fuel wont help that.

I had a methonal burning outboard.. 375HP and could pick the motor (powerhead, not complete) up and carry it across the shop.

BJH
cnavarro