Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: SOT: 914 heat exchanger technology applied to the home
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
bondo
Our house has electric heat, which gets expensive to actually use. We have a fireplace, but it doesn't have an outside source for combustion air. The result is that whenever we have a fire, the living room gets warm, but the bedroom actually gets COLDER because cold outside air is being drawn in by the fire.

The solution to this problem was to build a heat exchanger to sit at the back of the fireplace. Air gets bown through it and then plumbed to our bedroom via PVC pipe. The air comes out of the exchanger at about 140 degrees, and by the time it gets to our bedroom it's about 85 degrees (bigger drop than I expected, but whatever).

In case you're wondering, the PVC pipe is rated at 90 degC and we have a CO alarm in our bedroom in case something goes wrong.
biosurfer1
I'm a HVAC engineer and this is a first for me. We use heat exchangers all the time, but its usually for running through pipes to which air is then blown across and heated up. In a round-about way, I guess it's sort of the same concept. Why didnt you just run spiral ducting?

quite out of the box thinking , thats for sure:)
firstknight13
good idea BUT co alarm won't save you from the dangerous plastic fumes if a fire arises.... popcorn[1].gif
Aaron Cox
wrong on soo many levels..... wacko.gif
Britain Smith
If you are married, I can't believe the wife let you do such a thing.

-Britain
SirAndy
QUOTE(bondo @ Dec 9 2006, 08:51 PM) *

In case you're wondering, the PVC pipe is rated at 90 degC and we have a CO alarm in our bedroom in case something goes wrong.

a few things ...

get some hitemp paint and paint the metal part inside the fireplace black. that should be good for a few more degrees starting temp.