Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Backfire
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Coy
Okay… This might sound stupid…

I just love 914s, but I’m not really that good at working on them. Sure I’ll do brakes and oil and tune-ups, door latches and stuff like that, but when it comes down to actual engine work I just don’t have the proper space or tools, and to be perfectly honest; when the garage is colder than 60 degrees I don’t even have the inclination to do it myself. I used to over haul a Harley every winter and to tell you the truth, I’m just old now; I don’t want to work in the cold. Ad to that the fact that I am totally self-taught as a mechanic and you’ll see that I’m not great at diagnostics, and that I can quickly get in over my head.

So… I have this intermittent exhaust backfire that comes and goes and I don’t know why. It frequently backfires when it’s cold starting before it gets warm, but that stops after just a minute or less.

The car was running great Sunday afternoon (no backfire) so I took it out and had a good time on a twisty little road not far from my house and I have to say… it was running like a champ (I’m tell’n you, I love this car).

So Monday I drive it downtown and it starts doing the back fire thing in earnest. Not only that, but the exhaust seems especially loud. It doesn’t backfire when the accelerator pump is squirting, but it does when it’s at a constant speed. You guys are all real smart; does an exhaust leak at the head have the potential to cause a backfire when the car is running at about 3000 rpm? It's a 2.0 with dual Webbers and hydraulic lifters.

I have other cars, so I’ll just wait till the floor is warmer before I crawl underneath it, but in the mean time does this make sense that it could just be an exhaust leak, or does that kind of crap happen when the carbs are out of sync too? I don’t know squat about dual carbs.