Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Creeping crud
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Queenie
I went to put some oil in the car this morning and I was greeted with another batch of this weird looking goo you see in the below photo. I've seen it a few times on the 914; I've been driving air coolers for 15 years and don't recall ever seeing it on any other car.

Any idea what it might be or where it might come from?
redshift
Looks like foaming insulation..

blink.gif

M
Kargeek
Don't know how it could happen but, looks like water in the oil. DH
rhodyguy
water (condesation) and oil? queenie? is your car a 1.8 w/fi? if so, would you post a picture of your fancy new engine? primarily the hoses.

kevin
seanery
doesn't that indicate that the car needs to be driven longer? short runs cause that?
krk
On a /6, it was called "porsche mayo" by Bruce Anderson. On the fall side of life, or on an infrequently driven 6, you get the whitish goo on the oil tank cap. It's moisture. If the car is drivenen often enough to bring it up to operating temps, the h20 will be "burned off".

kim.
Queenie
It's a 2.0 with FI and, tragically, I still have the same crappy old oil burning engine I've always had - which is going to need either valve guides or rings or an exorcism soon. I do, however, have all new hoses. I can try to take some pictures of it tomorrow morning if you want.

It seems to me that the times when I've seen this goo before have been after rainy periods. But it hasn't rained here for at least a week.
Queenie
I drive the hell out of the car. I did a 120-mile round trip last night to see a band.

If it's not dangerous, I won't worry about it. It just looks freaky.
rhodyguy
i thought the "ex" had just built an engine for you? i need 1.8 pictures. gotta lose the 2 BIG, ORANGE, hoses some one put on.

kevin
Queenie