Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Intermittent starting problem?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
FB914
Hi again:

Seems like I've been posting one problem after another for the past 3 months. Here's another one. I just replaced my starter only to find out the problem was the ignition switch, which I now replaced. The starter was a rebuilt unit that had been in storage for a few years. Now the car starts only when the battery tender is hooked up to the battery. Otherwise it doesn't turn over. I have 12 volts when I turn the key to the 1st position without the tender hooked up, when I try to start it the voltage drops to 10 volts and nothing. All the electric systems work fine and the car runs great once started. I have an optima red top that's 2 years old and will get fully charged with the tender.

Any ideas what the problem might be? The starter seems to work OK when the tender is hooked up and the voltage goes to about 13. Is it a voltage regulator? Starter? Bad ignition switch that I just put in? Battery? Solenoid???? I may try putting my old starter back in but wanted to see if I could get a few second opinions.

Any ideas please. Thanks

Frank B
So.Cal.914
You could get a long extension cord...

First I would get the battery tested (most Flaps will do it) under a load.

Sometimes a battery will show V correctly with out a load but then fall on its

face with. Second take the starter with you and have it tested also. With

those tested it narrows the field. Let us know.
computers4kids
I would check the grounds... there are 5 I believe on the 914. A bad ground will do exactly what you are describing. They are notorious for causing all kinds of wierd electrical problems.

1. Check where the battery strap bolts to fender
2. Above the tailshift of the tranny is a strap that connects the trans to the body
3. Under the relay board (left driver's corner of engine compartment
4 Behind headlight buckets (I think)