Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 19mm Master Cylinder Question
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
AZ914
Ok, so I'm starting the install of my 911 front suspension and brakes. I have a 19mm master cylinder in a box, ready to install. So I pull the belly pan, roll under the car and stare up at my current master cylinder. I see an embossed '19' staring me back in the face. idea.gif

It looks like its been there a while. Am I golden or am I missing something?! Was the 19mm ever an option on the 914? I held my new M/C next to it and they look identical, at least from the firewall out...

Thanks!
jonwatts
The more important question is....

how much do you want for the new one since you already have a 19mm installed? smile.gif

Someone probably just went with the 19mm unit during a repair since it's such a common upgrade. A 4 cylinder car shouldn't / wouldn't have come with one. I don't know if the /6 cars used the 19mm master cylinder or not. I'm guessing they did since the rest of the suspension is 911.
Mueller
If the M/C on the car looks old, I'd replace it, cheap insurance

for a while, the 19mm M/C unit cost less than a 17mm M/C, so that was one reason some people used the larger one for repair
Dave_Darling
Only the front suspension is 911 on the 914-6. The 19mm MC was used on them, though.

The 19mm is a direct bolt-in replacement for the 17mm, though you might have to move one of the brake lines a little? I forget.

Sounds like someone already replaced your MC with a 19mm one.

--DD
AZ914
Cool, looks like I'm set. I didn't see any leakage around the fittings so I'll leave that one in there and unload the spare.
Mueller
Cool, looks like I'm set. I didn't see any leakage around the fittings