Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 914 supercar
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
BahnBrenner914
So I'm a mechanical engineering student and a big-time racing fan. And I've designed a formula one type car in CAD and I'm thinking about designing another car in CAD with a strong 914 base.

Here's a few things I'm thinking of:
-914 suspension (or 911) geometry, wheelbase, track, etc
-914 transaxle
-probably not a type IV, something else that's more modern
-Fiberglass monocoque or tube frame or combo
-custom aero body (my big part cause I want to be an aerodynamicist) in the low-drag (and some downforce) style of the carrera GT, GT40, McLaren f1, etc

Basically something I could build in several years with some research and design now while I'm in school. I want it light, relatively ( av-943.gif ) cheap, and of course aerodynamically superior (for mpg and speed). Like a 916 of modern times (at least the concept part)

So what do you guys think?
messix
go light and slippery and you don't need big hp. unless you want it to get big into the triple digits in mph.
BahnBrenner914
True, I like the lotus elise and ariel atom concepts, really really light and 'low' hp and still super fast driving.gif . How much power can be had from a custom built Type IV? like a 2.0+ with lots o' goodies.
messix
QUOTE(BahnBrenner914 @ Jun 20 2007, 12:36 AM) *

True, I like the lotus elise and ariel atom concepts, really really light and 'low' hp and still super fast driving.gif . How much power can be had from a custom built Type IV? like a 2.0+ with lots o' goodies.

now you're talkin $$$$. look up jake raby/ massive type four
BahnBrenner914
well I'll go for a different engine for less money, cause it'll probably be the same or more power and reliability and not tons of money.
TonyAKAVW
400 HP from a Subaru WRX STi motor is doable, reliable, and weighs less than a type IV.

-Tony
dlo914
QUOTE(TonyAKAVW @ Jun 20 2007, 01:10 AM) *