Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Going to build myself an engine
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
chris914
I’ve never built an aircooled before but I’m going to try. I’ve swapped motors and setup long blocks in my Type 181.

What I have:

A mystery 72 1.7L running in my car with cylinder #3 knocking.
- IDF Weber 40 carburetors
- 009 distributor
- Stock headers with a Burch exhaust

A complete stock 1.7L with EFI that wouldn’t turn over.

Several boxes of parts to build a 2056 from.
- 1.8L heads and case
- 2.0L crank and rods
- New 96mm flat top pistons
- New Webcam 73 cam

And another complete box of EFI setup from Evilbay.

A set of IDF 44 Webers that need to be rebuilt.

And Jake’s Type 4 engine rebuild video.

I was going to build a 2056 (and still may) until I found out that doing so would move me to an autocross class (AI) full of 2.4L’s (and you know who you are) I’m now in AP and putting 1.8L heads 2.0L in a 72 (non-stock parts for that year) adds to many points and moves me to AI.

What’s the biggest displacement a 1.7L can be increased to by just pistons and barrels and still work well?

Is the Webcam 73 a good choice for a 2056?

Can I use my Weber IDF 40’s on a 2056?

Could I use my 1.7L EFI or should I?

Will my current exhaust work?

What a good basic rebuild kit that has all the gaskets, seals, and sealants?

I will also need barrels and bearing. Any suggestions?
What else will I need?

Can I build a 2056 or rebuild my 1.7L with the parts that I have for ~$2000?

My autcross season is over for now. So I’m hoping to have it built my the first of next year.
degreeoff
Just an Idea....spend the money on heads and a balance job, work the case to fit 94's (bored out) call it a day.
mike373
Hey Chris...