Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: So you want to know what a 2270 feels like?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Pages: 1, 2
ConeDodger
I waited impatiently for the cable guy to show up as promised between 10am and 2pm... Nada.

Soooooooooooo, I hooked up the trailer and Yopu and I drove down to Napa to McMark's shop. It was a beautiful day and even with the trailer on the back it went by quickly.

Mark and I have been working on my 2270 Raby Kit for about 8 months with some long breaks in the mix... Today was the engine light off in the car...

You may recall seeing the engine run on Mark's test stand... it was loud and threw flames. Pretty cool to watch and hear. The real tough part of building a kit is not so much building the engine. While there are a couple of technical sections that will tax you if you aren't a "real" engine builder, it is pretty much just be really clean and follow the instructions meticulously... Installation however is really a long thought process. You have to decide what fuel pump you will use and how to mount it. You have to decide what to do with your fuel and oil filters as they don't always go in the same spots as stock... With all of that behind us, today was the day we lit it up and took it for a ride...

Oh my!!! With Mark in the passenger seat we took a drive around some six to eight blocks... It felt quick... Very torquey. I took Yopu next and wound it up a little tighter. This engine just loved it! Next, after some adjustment to the Rennshifter Mark took it for a ride. I believe he said that it felt just like a six but hey! I don't want to start a freakin' war or anything! biggrin.gif

The engine still has more potential. The carbs need to be synched and tuned a bit. The Rennshifter is still kind of stiff... There is a overcharge going on so we disconnected the voltage regulator until the problem can be tracked... But, it is a good start for an amazing engine.