Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: generator
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
yellow1
Hi , my generator light came on so i need to get a new 1.I have looked online at flaps and they have 2 types listed 1 has an external regulator, can someone help me out tell me the 1 i need for my car i am a newb and will have my mechanic install it for me.my car is a 76 2.0 FI.Thx
davep
Ah, well, you should have an alternator, not a generator to start with. The original has an external regulator that plugs into the relay panel. See this thread for VERY important information before you fry everything!

http://www.914world.com/bbs2/index.php?showtopic=5913
jaybird840
ar15.gif HIJACK!!!

OK, is it an ALTERNATOR or a GENERATOR?????? Everything in the car is marked "gen" as in... generator. All of the ads for new ones say "alternator." So, help a brotha out, and lemme know. Thx headbang.gif
Rand
It is an alternator for sure, not a generator. Why the idiot light in the dash is still marked with "G," and other references to "gen," I don't know.

Also note: If your light comes on, that means a problem somewhere in the charging circuit. Don't automatically assume it is the alternator! It's usually something else, and most often something cheaper... Like dirty wiring connections, voltage regulator, etc. So do some troubleshooting before just replacing the alternator!!
SirAndy
QUOTE(Rand @ Oct 2 2007, 02:56 PM) *

It is an alternator for sure, not a generator.

WRONG! biggrin.gif

see, them little 914s were made in germany and the german word for alternator is "Generator" ...

hence the (G) light in your gauge!
bye1.gif Andy
Rand
Ok, it is interlingual semantics then. laugh.gif
My definition was based on the American meaning.... It produces alternating current. bye1.gif
SirAndy
QUOTE(Rand @ Oct 2 2007, 03:10 PM) *

Ok, it is interlingual semantics then. laugh.gif
My definition was based on the American meaning.... It produces alternating current. bye1.gif