Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: running stock distributor with carbs.
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
slackin' at work
my car has a 009 and I know it is not doing me any favors.

I NEED to replace it with something... and Im eventually going back to FI.

so my question is, can I run a stock distributor with dual carbs? Should I take the trigger-points out until Im ready to go FI?

of course I don't have the stock distributor, so before I buy one Id like to know if it's OK to run it until I make the swap.

beer.gif

-chris
TravisNeff
yes you can run a stock distributor, I'd leave the trigger points in as you will get a bunch of crap in your distributor from the hole where the points were. Rig up a retard line in your intake manifold too.
anderssj
I've heard that the stock distributor from a 1.8L is a good choice, but I have no personal experience (still running a bosch 050 with DRLA40s).

Best,
slackin' at work
thanks guys for the thoughts.

I was just about to buy an SVDA dist. from aircooled.net (I was at the online checkout) and realized it was dumb if I was just going to have to find a stock one once I went to make the swap.

teef.gif
andys
When I made a Weber carb swap on my 2.0L some 30+ years ago, I used the stock distributor.

Andys
914Mike
QUOTE(anderssj @ Nov 8 2007, 12:49 PM) *

I've heard that the stock distributor from a 1.8L is a good choice, but I have no personal experience (still running a bosch 050 with DRLA40s).

Best,

Yep, the one from almost any 1.8 is mo' better than any 009! barf.gif (Or the one from a 2.0 bus motor for that matter. ) I'm running the 1.8 dizzy on my 2056 with the baby Webers, set the max advance @ 27 deg. and it's good to go, nice idle 'cause the mechanical advance has lots more degrees than a 009. I never hooked up the retard side of the dashpot, but the advance side is connected to the Weber vac ports... beer.gif
BarberDave
smilie_pokal.gif