Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Wanting a bit more power out of the 1.7.. options?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Bill Meyer
I'm new to the 914 world and coming from the 911 side the only thing I miss is the power. Otherwise, I actually prefer the new 914 to my Bahama Yellow 67 911S.

Anyway, it's a 73 1.7 that's been recently rebuilt, the only change being a Webcam and Hydraulic lifters, no idea of specs on the cam though.

What about a bigger bore kit on my 1.7. How big can you go on these cases, and will the FI and stock heads starve it for power? I'm not looking for a race motor, just something that scoots around nicely, say 100-125HP.

Whatever I do I absolutely want to retain Fuel injection. That being said, is my best option a later 2.0, and if so, how much reliable HP can be done with FI?

Thanks for any advice,
Bill

oh, and here's a pic of the new girl.
stateofidleness
that is a beautiful color!
no help from here on the topic at hand though.. sorry...

but nice car
tracks914
1.7's are for cruising. For power, real power it will cost you $5 - $10K.
A good 4 cylinder Raby engine will cost about $10K.
A six conversion will cost about $10K.
If you want power be prepared to spend.
If you only want about 100 - 110 hp, then it can be done cheaper.
Just my 2 cents. That's free!
gregrobbins
Nice car!

115-125 HP is realistic with a 2056. 2.0L crank, 96mm pistons, slightly hopped up cam (Raby 9550 suggested) and you can run the factory D-jet. I have a friend with a similar set up running 94mm pistons and he dynos 95 HP at the rear wheels, so should be around 110-115 at the flywheel.

You can use your 1.7L case, but it is advisable that you get 2.0L heads, or have your 1.7L heads modified to the 2.0L configuration.
toon1
Jake raby did a radio show on building a motor on a budget.

You can do a 100- 125hp for about 2k if you are savy.

with you 1.7 you have 90mm bores and a 66mm stroke crank and small valve heads.