Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Peter from TX... 1970 914/6 Restoration & build th
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Pages: 1, 2
AgPete139
Howdy everyone! biggrin.gif

My name is Peter and I am new to the world of Porsche. A number of months ago, I was given permission to restore my fathers 1970 914/6 in all original condition, and have recently (last week) begun the restoration process. I am so excited to get my father's first car back in running condition. It has sat in the garage for the last 28 years, and age has taken its toll. Rust (battery and trunk lid seals, etc.), some dry rot, numerous dents and bangs, and seizure to name a few. headbang.gif

Now, on with the pics!

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image

I am starting on the front end (steering, suspension, brakes) and I have come to a wall. Is there anyone in the Houston area (or willing to lend...I am honest) that will let me borrow a pin tool (4 grooved/pronged) for the lower strut?

Are there any other special tools that I will actually need when I rebuild the engine etc.? For instance, the front hub "required" a special tool resembling a mini crowbar, but a medium flathead and prying did the job just fine. Is this grooved socket worth the $65 to buy, and what are your thoughts on replacing it with a regular hex nut of the same thread and suspension washer for ease of removal for the future?

I have also done quite a bit of researching, and have acquired the original shop manuals for this unique beauty.

Any questions or pointers, I'd love to hear them! popcorn[1].gif

Pete
1970 Neun vierzehn
QUOTE(AgPete139 @ Feb 14 2008, 01:02 PM) *

Howdy everyone! biggrin.gif

Any questions or pointers, I'd love to hear them! popcorn[1].gif

Pete

You are so gonna be hearing "questions and pointers" laugh.gif
welcome.png

If you haven't done so already, add your 914s' VIN to the 914 info section found at the top right of the Forum pages.