Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Inner Longitudanal Replacement
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Tigre81
Good Day,

I am new to 914s, but not to Porsche or auto restorations, though I've never done a Porsche restoration. I have been looking around for a 914 project for a while, and somehow ended up with 3 cars all at once. I've been assured by former 914 owners that this is a normal occurance :-)

The current project car is a late 72, 1.7 barn find, 20 years. After stripping everything that could retain mildew and dumping it into an ozone tent, I am moving on to the unit body. The front and rear are in very good shape, with the exception of the missing battery box. The rust damage is largely in the side structure under the doors.

The inner rockers are gone. Even less remain after I pulled off the painted fiberglass that had been slapped over rust holes at some point. The bottom of the inner longs is gone as well as part of the side, particularly around the seatbelt bolts. The floors are good. The threshold are good. All 4 of the lift points are unusable. The unit body folds in the middle.

I jacked the car around enough to get the top corner of the back door seam to 3/16 and then welded in a top brace across both door openings. The bottom corner of the back door seam is 0. No lifting changes this.

So, I am looking for a couple of things:

- First and foremost; are replacement inner longs available to bridge from back to front firewall? Who makes/carries them?

- Advice on how to handle to body, ie lift, realign and rotate? It's not stable enough to do much with right now. I need to raise and support it to pull the power plant, and then to get it onto a rotisserie.

Many thanks for any advice!

Bartlett 914
Welcome to the club!

This type of restoration has been discussed here plenty. Try this classic link

http://www.914world.com/bbs2/index.php?showtopic=16748