Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Now, to tune the weber 40 IDF
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
purple
I know it's been rehashed over and over again....

I have some questions on how to do it after futzing around in the garage trying to make SOMETHING happen.

I followed the carb clinic instructions to the T and I think something is adjusted wrong... Maybe you guys can help.

I have the idle speed screws to 1/2 turn past first contact with the arms

linkage disconnected

air bypass screws all the way shut.

all mixture screws out 1.5 turns

it'll start and run (slowly) and it'll get to what i think is around 450 rpm or something. really slow..

the only way I can get it to idle at 450 or so is by having the mixture screws in pretty far. two cylinders dont even react past a certain point! i can have them all the way in (lightly) and the engine doesnt change its note at all!

Please ask me questions so I can give the right info. I've never done this before but i'd like to believe these arent fiddly carbs.

When they say the engine should 'speed up' is it a really noticeable change? because mine's so subtle as to be not affected.

please help guys!

these are brand new carbs from jake's store. I have the box that says what the jetting is. i'll post that soon.

what are 'jets' and what do they do?
McMark
Jets control are brass 'screws' that have tiny little holes in them that let a precise amount of fuel pass through them. By changing the jets larger and smaller you can control the amount of fuel that is mixed with the air. The mixture screws only adjust idle mixture. Mid-range and high-rpm mixtures are controlled by main jets and air correction jets, there is no twist-a-screw-to-adjust for those. The Haynes manual on carbs is pretty good.

What's your timing set at?
purple