Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: An Oklahoman Restoration
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Pages: 1, 2
A&PGirl
To be honest I should have started this a while ago.

Background on the car (condensed version):

I bought it out of a field from a tow truck driver who removed from the garage of a house which was being busted by police for drugs. stirthepot.gif The landlord took the car for rent due and called the tow truck to store it and then he disappeared. All we know is the car sat in the field for at least a year and the grass was up to the fender.

End condensed version of the background.

I have had the car for about 3 years and I am still learning new things each day about it that deserve a beer3.gif or two.

Here are some early pics:

Click to view attachment

Click to view attachment

POR 15 only works if you don't look beyond the surface... headbang.gif

Click to view attachment

A&PGirl
Okay, as some might know I did drive the car to Hallett over a year proving it could start and run. On that trip my Dad and I noticed a VERY weird vibration in the front of the car.

The Right Front fender moved up and down independently to the rest of the car movement. I mean UP and down. It was very noticeably. Also, we noticed during the same time frame that the car would drag off to the front right.

What in the world caused this? We had no clue at the time. Rennsport had no clue and the other local guys had no clue.

The car sat for several months because this was a somewhat dangerous situation and I was pulling anywhere between 15-21 hours in school. (My dad worked full-time too).

In February, while poking around I noticed something strange inside the car on the passenger side. Under a copious amount of seam sealer I might add.

Click to view attachment

Then I went around and looked through the wheel well

Click to view attachment
Click to view attachment
Click to view attachment

Notice how smooth that wheel well looks?

Root_Werks