Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: How do you clean your Transmission/Engine
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
RiqueMar
I have multipe Trans. and Engines that have years of caked dust/dirt/mud/etc on them.

What is the best way to getting them to look new? Power washing? Parts cleaner?

I know this is such a newb question, but hey! I'm a Newb! unsure.gif
ericread
Sorry for the non-serious response, but I love this image from last year...

Click to view attachment

Eric Read

lol3.gif

RiqueMar
Hey, it's the first response I've gotten, I just don't know what to do.
Rand
Steam cleaners rock. But not everyone has access to them.
You could take them down to a carwash with the pressure wands, soak everything good with brake cleaner (or see if someone chimes in with a better chemical), let it work a bit, then power wash it off.
jd74914
I've always used a big shop sink, a ton of degreaser, maybe some brake cleaner, rags, and a wire brush. You can clean off pretty much everything that way, it just takes time.

Though if you want to clean assembled stuff a powerwash isn't too bad an idea. Just make sure you don't do it over any grass.
Johny Blackstain
If I remember correctly, Dr. Evil recommended Easy Off & a power washer for the tranny.
RiqueMar
Right on, any other "hot tips"?
Spoke
I used a small screwdriver to scrape off the caked mud on my tranny. Looks good enough.
Cap'n Krusty
Whatever you use, be careful! I wouldn't steam a tranny unless it was coming apart right away. That Castrol purple cleaner can EASILY put you in the hospital, so use it in a WELL ventilated place with a good breeze blowing. Easy Off can damage the magnesium tranny case and other bits, so be careful there, too. Oh, staem cleaning can permanently discolor aluminum engine cases (OK, anything made of aluminum .............. )

The Cap'n
Rav914
Simple Green and a powerwasher connected to the hot water tap.
Ericv1