Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 914-6 oil tank leaks?!@#
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
xsurfer
Unemployment has created time to chase oil leaks. The car is an 87,000 orig. mile car. It drips oil by the back of the left door and just in front of the left rear wheel. There is oil and grime everywhere in the area of the oil tank. I intend to R & R the tank cleaning everything. I have no experience removing the tank. I have heard I need flat end wrench from Porsche to do so. Is that correct.

All suggestions and help greatly appreciated. I can't stand the oil leak.

Thanks

Gene
ahdoman
Gene,
Not sure about the size of the fitting but you won't be able to take it off the tank while the tank is still installed. You'll have to split the oil line between the hose that's attached to the tank and where it goes into the cooler at the bottom. To remove the tank you'll have to pull the rocker, remove everything from the tank and with a little luck you'll be able to twist it out of the fender. I decided to cut the fender brace and pry the fender open a little to help get it out. Sorry I don't have any pics of the process.
PRS914-6
Before removing the tank I would clean the tank well with a degreaser inside the fenderwell so you can inspect. If no leaks are coming from the oil line fittings I would replace the o-ring at the oil filter console. First remove the filter , then the 3 bolts holding the console on and then you can get to the o-ring.

Also, it's pretty typical that when you unscrew the filter at oil changes that some oil runs down making a puddle that may appear to be a leak.
SLITS
Remove oil filter console (3 hex bolts)

Remove filler neck (hose clamp)

Disconnect scavange pump oil line and remove securing nut

Split line going to pressure side of pump (1st section of line remains attached to tank)

Remove two attachment nuts, isolators and washers

Push tank back and slide out of fender

xsurfer