Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Accelerator pedal replacement
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
#1RAGE
My 914 is stored away for the winter right now but it has a wobbly gas pedal that moved side to side a lot and I'd like to replace it. Last summer was my first summer with it and the pedal was always that way but I'm afraid it will break eventually.... not to mention it is annoying.

I'm a newbie to the teener world so I just want to check exactly what I need to replace the pedal. Should I simple get a new pedal? Is that all I need? Also, how hard is it to replace the pedal? Any special tricks I should know of?

Thanks cool.gif
Mueller
new pedals are available thru the usual on-line places....$25+ bucks for the gas pedal.....

if I am correct, all you need is a 10mm socket to replace it
fiid
Mine was rest-o-welded to the floor - I ended up cutting out a section and welding a nut into the floor and rebolting it.

Get a can of WD40 or more agressive penetrating oil and let it settle in overnight. Make sure you use a hex socket or ring ended wrench and be careful not to strip the bolts. I would replace the bolts too, and maybe use antiseize on them.
nine14cats
Replace that thing! I had a student at last weekends auto-x whose gas pedal was wobbling all over. The pedal would deflect, causing the accelerator linkage to either stick full throttle or come off completely from the ball linkage.

Cheap insurance.

Bill P.
Dave_Darling
Things you need:
10mm socket, extensions (I recall a 6" one was handy there), and ratchet.
PB Blaster or Aero Kroyl. Not WD-40; WD-40 is not a penetrating oil.
Two new M6 bolts with washers.

A hammer may come in handy.

A wire brush will likely come in handy. So will Ospho, or POR-15 "Metal Ready", or Naval Jelly, or any of the other rust converter products. And paint--paint is always good to have on hand.

What I'm trying to get at here: