Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: LE - WHAT SHOULD I LOOK FOR ?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
advtracing
HI GUYS,
Newbie here again , i have the 914 home and will take some more photos today , but what colour would have been sprayed in to the dash area during production ?
undercoat colour and top colour /

Now i'll tell you why .... under the dash top is black ... but under the black when gently scraped away is lime yellow/green
Todd Enlund
QUOTE(advtracing @ Oct 2 2009, 03:26 PM) *

HI GUYS,
Newbie here again , i have the 914 home and will take some more photos today , but what colour would have been sprayed in to the dash area during production ?

Now i'll tell you why .... under the dash top is black ... but under the black when gently scraped away is lime yellow/green

I learned that during production, the dash was painted whatever color was handy. It had no relation to the color of the body.
advtracing
QUOTE(Todd Enlund @ Oct 3 2009, 12:28 PM) *

QUOTE(advtracing @ Oct 2 2009, 03:26 PM) *

HI GUYS,

I learned that during production, the dash was painted whatever color was handy. It had no relation to the color of the body.

cheers
SLITS
Get the vin and send it to Jeff Bowlsby or check his site for the range of vins. It has to be a '74.
JRust
What to look for on an LE?
1st check the front spoiler/air damn.
If it's an original LE airdamin it will be injection molded. meaning on each end there are 2 holes where they shot the injection in. Also it has 2 extra mounting tabs on the bottom about 1/3rd from each end. Most importantly the car will have these 2 tabs coming out for those to mount too. Also the OE LE air damn has a stamp in the middle on the backside with numbers.
2nd The targa bar vinyl doesn't exist. If there are no holes there & they haven't been filled that is another indication.