Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs
 
914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!
 
Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.
 

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> 3rd Brake light with pulse strobe, My $5 buck 3rd brake light with $5 strobe
dangrouche
post Jun 15 2013, 01:04 PM
Post #1


dangrouche
**

Group: Members
Posts: 496
Joined: 1-May 04
From: San Francisco Bay Area
Member No.: 2,012
Region Association: None



How many of you are paranoid of being rear ended? I certainly am. Here's my installation of a 24-LED brake light that I installed with a few bits from my workbench. I got this 24-LED from a Bang Good.com. That website gives free shipping. The current model is on sale for $5.19 and that model is SKU010514. I bought the 24-LED version, which they no longer stock and it cost me $4.55. Its $7.49 at AMAZON. NO RELAY OR OTHER ELECTRICAL PARTS NEEDED. I know I have seen these in the FLAPS for at least double or triple that. Anyway, as long as you can wait a couple of weeks, you can either buy it there or go to the FLAPS. I finished the install last night. This morning when I went to open the rear trunk, I see that I should installed the light closer to the rear window. Almost tore the thing off! Pic one shows the wrong way to do it. Pic two shows the wiring from the left rear tail light housing. I put on brass spades (get from FLAPS) that sisters the existing connections and no OEM wiring was cut or spliced to do this install. Pic three shows routing for two leads into the engine compartment into the engine compartment. Pic four shows how I drilled the plastic with a 1/8" bit and threaded the wiring. I also used speed clips (from car speaker install kits) and you see the galvanized metal in the pic. I stuck a patch of velcro as a vibration pad. Pic five shows the velcro in place. I also added a flat washer and a lock washer when I screwed it into place. Pic six shows the completed installation. I also covered the entire wiring in small plastic tubing and zip tied everything in place, leaving a large loop of wire so the engine lid can be opened. I considered installing this under the targa bar, but routing the wire would have been too much work and I did not want to use the double sided foam tape that came with the light. This install can quickly undone with a pair of dykes in a few minutes.


Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Bartlett 914
post Jun 15 2013, 01:40 PM
Post #2


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,085
Joined: 30-August 05
From: South Elgin IL
Member No.: 4,707
Region Association: Upper MidWest



I think it would look better forward of the grill
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
r_towle
post Jun 15 2013, 03:57 PM
Post #3


Custom Member
***************

Group: Members
Posts: 22,468
Joined: 9-January 03
From: Taxachusetts
Member No.: 124
Region Association: North East States



Cool job.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
turk22
post Jun 15 2013, 04:06 PM
Post #4


Treetop Flyer
***

Group: Members
Posts: 726
Joined: 27-July 12
From: Cincinnati OH
Member No.: 14,725
Region Association: Upper MidWest



really like how did the wiring, with nothing cut... very clean. I think I would like to figure out how to mount to the underside of the roll bar, but I think its a very smart idea to have a third brake light on these cars.

Great job! (IMG:style_emoticons/default/beerchug.gif)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bandjoey
post Jun 15 2013, 08:01 PM
Post #5


bandjoey
****

Group: Members
Posts: 4,423
Joined: 26-September 07
From: Bedford Tx
Member No.: 8,156
Region Association: Southwest Region



So does it work???
Show me the RED!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dangrouche
post Jun 15 2013, 11:44 PM
Post #6


dangrouche
**

Group: Members
Posts: 496
Joined: 1-May 04
From: San Francisco Bay Area
Member No.: 2,012
Region Association: None



okay, no one around to help me step on the pedal, so I had to put on self timer, one blurry and the other lit up


Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image Attached Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dangrouche
post Oct 1 2013, 08:20 PM
Post #7


dangrouche
**

Group: Members
Posts: 496
Joined: 1-May 04
From: San Francisco Bay Area
Member No.: 2,012
Region Association: None



I added a $5 strobe flasher to my 3rd brake light set up, so now the 3rd brake light flashes in a pulsed manner. I bought the two models of the flasher module from superbrightleds.com, model LSC-100A and LSC-100B. LSC-100B gives you continuous flash pulsing as you step on brake. LSC-100A gives a few strobe pulses then brake lite stays on solid. I put on push-terminals so I when my mood strikes, I can change the mode of the flashing. Sorry, I don't know how to attach a video file of the actual light flashing. You will have to look up a youtube search at the vendor website using the model numbers discussed above and you will get an idea of the flashing mode outputs. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif) I added a fuse assembly as well. Wiring is simple, two grounds off of the left terminal, the hot terminal off of the the light housing feeds the strobe unit black lead, and the red lead exiting the strobe unit connects to the hot feed to the 3rd brake light. Attached Image Attached Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RickS
post Oct 1 2013, 10:15 PM
Post #8


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,155
Joined: 17-April 06
From: 'False City', WA
Member No.: 5,880
Region Association: None



Attached Image

Nice work and yes I am just as paranoid adding a high intensity strobing stop light from a motorcycle lighting company (4 pulses and then goes solid). I took a little different tack and mounted it under the top edge of the roll bar.

Great job and paranoia works since I mounted the same in my 82 SC
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
anderssj
post Oct 2 2013, 06:56 PM
Post #9


the box rox!
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,197
Joined: 28-January 03
From: VA
Member No.: 207
Region Association: MidAtlantic Region



Nice work, and thanks for the tip on the LSC-100A . . . I need to look into that!

QUOTE(RickS @ Oct 2 2013, 12:15 AM) *

Attached Image


Rick, nice look on the white car--very discrete. Do you have any info on the light? (vendor, PN, price, etc.)

Also, how did you mount it? 3M foam tape? (IMG:style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif)

Where did you run the wiring?

I'm always looking for better ways to skin this cat . . . and both shown will help with my current set up.

Thanks!

Steve A-
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
76-914
post Oct 2 2013, 07:09 PM
Post #10


Repeat Offender
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 9,837
Joined: 23-January 09
From: Temecula, CA
Member No.: 9,964
Region Association: Southern California



I like the strobe controller. Look out Wheelen.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kid914
post Oct 2 2013, 07:13 PM
Post #11


ALWAYS lead...NEVER follow!!!!
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,281
Joined: 9-March 11
From: Canada
Member No.: 12,811
Region Association: Canada



(IMG:style_emoticons/default/idea.gif) I wonder if the strobe module would work with a c4 3rd light?? (IMG:style_emoticons/default/aktion035.gif)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RickS
post Oct 2 2013, 10:32 PM
Post #12


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,155
Joined: 17-April 06
From: 'False City', WA
Member No.: 5,880
Region Association: None



QUOTE(anderssj @ Oct 2 2013, 05:56 PM) *

Nice work, and thanks for the tip on the LSC-100A . . . I need to look into that!

QUOTE(RickS @ Oct 2 2013, 12:15 AM) *

Attached Image


Rick, nice look on the white car--very discrete. Do you have any info on the light? (vendor, PN, price, etc.)

Also, how did you mount it? 3M foam tape? (IMG:style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif)

Where did you run the wiring?

I'm always looking for better ways to skin this cat . . . and both shown will help with my current set up.

Thanks!

Steve A-




------------------------------------------
Hi Steve thanks for the kind words.

This is the source and a video of the compact but bright flashing LED brake light. I did not use the red wire for the running light, only the flashing brake: Knight Rider Non-Sequential LED http://www.customdynamics.com/knight_rider...l_led_video.htm

I used Dan's wiring method to the tail light and then discretely popped out the wires though the fixed wing of the engine grill next to the targa bar. I then removed the targa chrome trim and ran the wires under the trim and popped them out in the center of the bar - since it is very low voltage, I used a thin gauge speaker wire.

The light indeed is attached by 3M double stick tape.

The cost was $30.00 but felt that was cheap to save my ass. Here is the link to the page for the NON-SEQUENTIAL DUAL INTENSITY (not yelling but they sell several types). Scroll down around mid-page: http://www.customdynamics.com/knight_rider_led_light_bar.htm

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
914forme
post Oct 3 2013, 10:00 AM
Post #13


Times a wastin', get wrenchin'!
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,929
Joined: 24-July 04
From: Dayton, Ohio
Member No.: 2,388



Flashing lights are restricted to emergency vehicles so if the circuit goes completely dark you could have an issue with Johnny law.

That being said, these are used all over the place, you can get around the issue by having a second set of LEDS light up with the flash module, thus making pulse in intensity.

That being said, I have al the parts to install my third brake light for my current build, including a pulsing third brake light. Though my stuff was not sub $15. Ford GT third brake lights are not that cheap.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cairo94507
post Oct 4 2013, 07:50 AM
Post #14


Michael
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 5,267
Joined: 1-November 08
From: San Ramon Valley, CA
Member No.: 9,712
Region Association: Northern California



Stephen I would like to see your Ford GT 3rd brake light. Where will you attach it?

We are definitely incorporating a 3rd brake light into my build and I definitely want it to have the flash option as described above.

My last several cars, DD's, have these and they flash 3-4 times and then go solid. I like the extra visibility to wake up the commuters.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
914forme
post Oct 4 2013, 11:06 AM
Post #15


Times a wastin', get wrenchin'!
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,929
Joined: 24-July 04
From: Dayton, Ohio
Member No.: 2,388



QUOTE(Cairo94507 @ Oct 4 2013, 09:50 AM) *

Stephen I would like to see your Ford GT 3rd brake light. Where will you attach it?


Plan is to mount it in the trim right below the roof. I will have to cut a small pocket into the metal behind the trim, then trim the trim to make it flush, it will protrude just slightly. It has been done on here before so not my original idea, just really liked it for my build. So I am um stealing it. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/evilgrin.gif)

I found it! (IMG:style_emoticons/default/piratenanner.gif)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cairo94507
post Oct 4 2013, 10:42 PM
Post #16


Michael
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 5,267
Joined: 1-November 08
From: San Ramon Valley, CA
Member No.: 9,712
Region Association: Northern California



That is what Scotty is going to do to incorporate a 3rd brake light into my car. I want it to be about 12 inches long and I would prefer the lens to be clear so it kind of disappears into the trim unless it you step on the brake pedal. Definitely has to be LED.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Nürburg Nomad
post Oct 5 2013, 09:48 AM
Post #17


914Rubber.com!
**

Group: Members
Posts: 296
Joined: 30-March 10
From: Buckeye State
Member No.: 11,536
Region Association: Upper MidWest



QUOTE(Cairo94507 @ Oct 4 2013, 11:42 PM) *

That is what Scotty is going to do to incorporate a 3rd brake light into my car. I want it to be about 12 inches long and I would prefer the lens to be clear so it kind of disappears into the trim unless it you step on the brake pedal. Definitely has to be LED.

Then you'll want a 5th Gen Camaro 3rd brake light like I have done. This is the 2010-2013 model for the coupe (not convertible) and is a clear lens, which is the widest OEM produced 3rd brake light you can section into our trim with a clear lens that I'm aware of. After that the slight curvature of the roll bar trim would prevent any wider LED assembly.

Best part is the LED array is so shallow you shouldn't need to hack into the structure of the roll bar itself, assuming you carefully modify the plastic housing on the back you should just need zip a section of the lip off and the wiring can be run underneath the trim.

I ordered 2 from a salvage yard in Cleveland a few years back that had lots of 5th Gen Camaro's and they FedEx'd them to me for about $25 a piece. I tried a few local GM dealerships but they insisted it was only sold with a huge wiring harness leading up to it and the cost was very high; as it's not a part that should ever require replacement given it's location in the back window.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
7TPorsh
post Dec 16 2013, 02:56 PM
Post #18


7T Porsh
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,586
Joined: 27-March 06
From: La Canada Flintridge, Ca
Member No.: 5,782
Region Association: Southern California



I had an extra...10 minutes...to this and did it with a minute to spare.

"NO EXCUSE GUYS...BUY THE LIGHT AND PUT IT ON!

Take one more factor out of someone hitting you.

I mounted the same $5 ebay light under the targa bar. Light is stick on and it sticks ok so far. Since the light mount is a bit of an angle the lens extends further back than the targa so at night you see more red...plus it can be adjusted.

I mounted just behind the chrom trim and tucked the really thin wires under the trim and down the sail panel trim...didn't remove the trim, just loosened a little to slip the wires under.

Into the side engine grill and under into the trunk, etc. like described in the above posts...invisible.

No pulse yet but I do notice (in daytime) that drivers behind me brake sooner. and keep an extra foot or two open after they stop. Maybe my perception is (IMG:style_emoticons/default/blink.gif)

Attached Image

Attached Image


User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
7TPorsh
post Dec 16 2013, 02:56 PM
Post #19


7T Porsh
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,586
Joined: 27-March 06
From: La Canada Flintridge, Ca
Member No.: 5,782
Region Association: Southern California



Attached Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Rleog
post Dec 16 2013, 07:30 PM
Post #20


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 483
Joined: 12-October 03
From: Middleton, MA
Member No.: 1,239
Region Association: North East States



Well, I'll be amazed if this purchase goes through, but I just ordered this light from BangGood.com for $2.99 and no shipping charge. I'll let you (this thread) know if/when I get it. Paid with PayPal.

(IMG:style_emoticons/default/santa_smiley.gif)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

2 Pages V  1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th October 2018 - 06:45 PM