Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs
 
914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!
 
Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.
 

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Transmission Seal Removal, Input Shaft
solex
post Jan 1 2008, 01:50 PM
Post #1


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 728
Joined: 12-January 05
From: Long Island, NY
Member No.: 3,439
Region Association: North East States



How do I get the input shaft seal out of the transmission? The input shaft gets in the way of applying an leverage.


Thanks,
Dan
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
KaptKaos
post Jan 1 2008, 01:55 PM
Post #2


Family
****

Group: Members
Posts: 4,002
Joined: 23-April 03
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 607
Region Association: Southern California



QUOTE(solex @ Jan 1 2008, 11:50 AM) *

How do I get the input shaft seal out of the transmission? The input shaft gets in the way of applying an leverage.


I think I pushed mine out from the inside. I don't recall for certain.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
solex
post Jan 1 2008, 02:01 PM
Post #3


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 728
Joined: 12-January 05
From: Long Island, NY
Member No.: 3,439
Region Association: North East States



Joe,
I'm just replacing the seal, the transmission is still together and I do not have plans to take it apart.

Thanks,
Dan
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
KaptKaos
post Jan 1 2008, 02:16 PM
Post #4


Family
****

Group: Members
Posts: 4,002
Joined: 23-April 03
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 607
Region Association: Southern California



Just the input seal?

I did all of mine when I resealed it. You know "while you're in there."

I am pretty sure I pushed it out. The question becomes, how do you press it back in with the input shaft there? Assuming you get the old one out, how will you make sure you get the new one in right?

That's why I think I did mine with the input shaft out. Others will know better than I.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
McMark
post Jan 1 2008, 02:31 PM
Post #5


I'm a 914
***************

Group: Admin
Posts: 19,762
Joined: 13-March 03
From: Grand Rapids, MI
Member No.: 419
Region Association: North East States



Get a seal puller.

(IMG:http://www.eurocarparts.com/sealey/images/AK7000.jpg)

Cheap and available at any parts store.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
solex
post Jan 1 2008, 02:48 PM
Post #6


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 728
Joined: 12-January 05
From: Long Island, NY
Member No.: 3,439
Region Association: North East States



QUOTE(McMark @ Jan 1 2008, 03:31 PM) *

Get a seal puller.

(IMG:http://www.eurocarparts.com/sealey/images/AK7000.jpg)

Cheap and available at any parts store.


This tool is what I'm using and am having difficulty getting leverage with the input shaft in the way, I guess I have to try harder.

Thanks,
Dan
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
McMark
post Jan 1 2008, 02:51 PM
Post #7


I'm a 914
***************

Group: Admin
Posts: 19,762
Joined: 13-March 03
From: Grand Rapids, MI
Member No.: 419
Region Association: North East States



You really need to jam the hook in there deep. Just be careful not to push the seal inside. It's one of those things that is tricky the first time, but each time is gets easier.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ejm
post Jan 1 2008, 04:05 PM
Post #8


I can see the light at the end of the tunnel
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,370
Joined: 3-February 03
From: Massachusetts
Member No.: 224



(IMG:style_emoticons/default/agree.gif) That seal can be really difficult to remove. Be careful not to gouge the mainshaft or the case.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
911quest
post Jan 1 2008, 04:39 PM
Post #9


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 277
Joined: 26-March 06
From: Louisville Ky
Member No.: 5,773
Region Association: South East States



The seal puller works great but you can also screw a sheet metal screw into the seal and use pliers to pull it out.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TimT
post Jan 1 2008, 10:42 PM
Post #10


retired
****

Group: Members
Posts: 4,033
Joined: 18-February 03
From: Wantagh, NY
Member No.: 313



QUOTE
screw a sheet metal screw into the seal and use pliers to pull it out.


or a slide-hammer..... Ive done that more than once

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
wertygrog
post Jan 1 2008, 11:02 PM
Post #11


wertygrog
**

Group: Members
Posts: 428
Joined: 12-November 05
From: Escondido, CA
Member No.: 5,114
Region Association: Southern California



seal puller worked for me! Just be real careful tose. not gouge the tranny case...
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cap'n Krusty
post Jan 2 2008, 12:32 AM
Post #12


Cap'n Krusty
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 10,794
Joined: 24-June 04
From: Santa Maria, CA
Member No.: 2,246
Region Association: Central California



I've used a long 1/4" flat blade screwdriver successfully for about 40 years. The Cap'n
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
racunniff
post Apr 5 2008, 10:55 PM
Post #13


volt914
**

Group: Members
Posts: 170
Joined: 21-August 06
From: Fort Collins, CO
Member No.: 6,705
Region Association: Rocky Mountains



QUOTE(TimT @ Jan 1 2008, 10:42 PM) *

QUOTE
screw a sheet metal screw into the seal and use pliers to pull it out.


or a slide-hammer..... Ive done that more than once

(IMG:style_emoticons/default/agree.gif)

That's how I did it today. The "seal" actually is largely metal - drill a pilot hole (being careful not to drop metal shavings into the guts of the tranny) then insert a screw on your slide hammer, bang, bang, and it pops right out:

Attached Image

Installing the new one is as simple as finding a piece of pipe the right size to use as a drift:

Attached Image

Per Dr. Evil in a different thread, you just need to get it in far enough that the release bearing guide tube can be installed flush. Like this:

Attached Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd November 2017 - 07:16 AM