Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Jason's Rookie 3.2 Conversion Q & A Thread!
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Pages: 1, 2
AZ914
Hey Everyone!

As some of the ClubNarpsters know, I've taken on a 3.2 conversion, replacing a 2.0 in my 75. driving.gif

While I've gone through numerous threads, there are still things that I'm just unsure of. Either I'm not finding the info, finding conflicting info, or I'm just too stupid naieve to figure it out. smile.gif I'm a rookie wrench-turner at best, and this is by far the largest project I have ever taken on.

I thought I'd do something a little different with my thread, instead of just posting progress pictures, I'd like to use this as a Q&A. I know it will help me and perhaps it will help others in the future. Thanks so much for any good info.

So.... lets do this thang!

QUESTION 1:
I am mating the 3.2 to a 901 sideshift transmission. I currently have the stock bell housing, stock pressure plate, and a low-mileage 6-spring clutch. I have heard, that with the 3.2, all I need is a 3.2 to 901 conversion flywheel (no ring, etc).
Is this true?
ArtechnikA
QUOTE(AZ914 @ Jul 20 2011, 01:34 PM) *

I am mating the 3.2 to a 901 sideshift transmission. I currently have the stock bell housing, stock pressure plate, and a low-mileage 6-spring clutch. I have heard, that with the 3.2, all I need is a 3.2 to 901 conversion flywheel (no ring, etc).
Is this true?

The starter 'ring gear' is integral to a 901 flywheel - it is not separate.
If you are retaining the 3,2's Motronic, you'll need a flywheel with the magick cam position sensor teeth.
The standard vendor for conversion (9-bolt 901) flywheels is Kennedy Enginered Products (KEP). I'd probably go with whatever clutch disk they recommend, although I understand your desire to retain the prior investment.

I do not know if they have flywheels with the Motronic magick.
If not, Patrick Racing surely does. I'd ask Kennedy first...
Steve