Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Joes 2056 build thread
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Pages: 1, 2, 3
jsayre914
I have been searching all the 2056 threads. Their should really be a 2056 for dummies thread biggrin.gif

I plan on building a 2056 D-jet from my stock 2.0 1973 motor. I have been collecting parts since 2009 rolleyes.gif

Here is what I got so far:

2.0 motor (havent split it yet)
D-Jet system off my 73
4 cleaned & Tested injectors
new wiring harness from bowlsby
new tps board
new hoses
rabby 9550 cam kit
1.8 rockers and swivel feet
aa 96mm cylinder & pistons

I might be forgettin a few things, it has been a while. idea.gif

The heads should be sent out within the week to be checked and prepared with new seats, valves, etc. And I will be splitting the case open this week also. All the cool kids are doing it smile.gif

What other thing do I need to purchase as I begin???

gaskets, bearings, flywheel ??? confused24.gif

also what tools are required other than the basic tools?

I never done this before
hide.gif

thanks
Joseph
Valy
QUOTE(jsayre914 @ Sep 12 2011, 03:32 PM) *

1.8 rockers and swivel feet

I think you want the 1.7 rockers to go with the Rabby cam.

QUOTE(jsayre914 @ Sep 12 2011, 03:32 PM) *

What other thing do I need to purchase as I begin???

Beer, sealant and tools. I would also plan for a new clutch.

And those injectors... if they've been waiting too much time, you may have some surprises.

welcome.png
yeahmag
I think these days you will need to buy a "cam kit" from Jake. That will include everything you need to do the job. You will also need to budget for lot's of machining. You may consider things like:

* Full flow
* Type I oil pump
* External Oil Cooler
* Complete Gasket Kit
* Cam and Main Bearings
* Rebuild the heads with SS valves, upgraded springs, and keepers
* Dynamic balance of all components
* Resurface flywheel
* Replace clutch and pressure plate (prior to balance job)
* Does your MPS hold vacuum?