Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Six vs. Four
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4
Mike Bellis
QUOTE(McMark @ Aug 16 2004, 09:14 PM) *

A 2270 that is well built will put out enough horsepower to make a 914 an exciting daily driver without overpowering it. Small sixes are a ton of work for no HP gain, big sixes are expensive, and V8 are so overpowered that daily driving becomes a chore.

The V8 is not a chore but it is challenging. It can be a hand full on damp roads. I can't go back to a 4 after driving a V8. With my EFI it's a get in and go car. Now if I can only figure out the heater, then it would be better in the winter. Tires make a big difference with a V8. Right now I have Yokohama Advans with a tread wear of 60. Very nice in the summer, not so good in the winter with so much torque.
DiamondD
I am brand new to these cars. I have only had mine, a pretty nice '74 2.0, since the end of November and have only driven it three times. I really like driving through the twisties in this car and can only imagine that a 150-175 hp Four would be a whole lot of fun.

I voted Big Four and will eventually get one of Jakes kits to put in this car, or find another teener and build it just like I want without having to mess with my nice original car.

Dean
bill pierce
I voted big 4.

I have been into motorcycles ever since I was a kid. This taught me early on the importance of light weight.

I believe a big 4 is the ideal motor for the 914. It gives a good power to weight ratio and keeping the weight down helps in maintaining high corner speeds.

That said, a number of years ago I built a 71 240z with a 406 small block chevy and a 5 speed. In the case of the z it only added 150 lbs over the cast iron 6. It also moved the weight lower and further toward the center of the car.

I'm sticking with the big bore 4 at least for now. beer.gif

sean_v8_914
big Four because:
car is purpose built to optimize class rules for target race group