Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 71 1.7L Engine Coming Out
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Rhodes71/914
I purchased this car on ebay sight unseen. Engine was not running body is in great shape. With some help of this board I was able to get the engine to run and idle although it was still a little rough. At least I know the engine is not total crap. smile.gif

My intention from the beginning was to pull the engine at least to check it out and clean it up. Since I did get it to run I wanted to at least drive it around the block. All I here from my wife is how fun they are to drive. driving-girl.gif Well it wasn't meant to be. The clutch is history so the engine is coming out.

I have some experience with type IV engines from a 74 VW Bus. Had that one out a few times. I have the Haynes manual and have checked out the online guides for taking the engine out so I should have no problem with that.

Just looking for advice from experience as to special things I should look for and do while I have that thing out.

Thanks for all your input. rocking nana.gif
Joe Ricard
4 bolts, couple of wires, shift rod. gas lines, cv's. The manual has a fair procedure but the tech article on PP has detail enough that my son at 16 yrs old pulled his in 3 hours. BY HIMSELF
seanery
we used the pelican furniture dolly method. It worked pretty well.
McMark
The pre-release 914Club engine drop tech article.

http://www.914world.com/members/markd/tech...nginedrop2.html
SLITS
Nicer if you have a second person to watch for hoses/wires hanging up as you drop it out. If it's only the clutch, you don't have to drop it.
jr91472
Prepare yourself for the "hmmm while I am in here....." desease. Slippery slope...know what i mean?

have fun
Aaron Cox
QUOTE(markd@mac.com @ Aug 26 2004, 11:08 AM)
The pre-release 914Club engine drop tech article.

http://www.914world.com/members/markd/tech...nginedrop2.html

nice article smilie_pokal.gif
machina