Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: bleeding brakes, etc
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
jimkelly
I am trying to bleed my bone dry brake system with a MOTIVE pressure system and a mix of long tube, but since they say you can't use SPEED BLEEDERS with MOTIVE, I want to make sure I am not chasing my tail.

I did bleed each corners twice so far and have some small amount of peddle, maybe 25% or so of normal.

the picture below is a new bleeder and one I pulled out of my jack standed car.
Black22
I'm no expert, but those don't look like Speed Bleeders to me.
stugray
You should be able to blow both ways through a normal bleeder, but only OUT on a speed bleeder.
They have little ball valves in them.
URY914
Did you google speedbleeders for a picture?
jimkelly
I tried youtube.

found this in google images

but the bliow method sounds ok for CLEAN ones barf.gif

looks like speed bleeders have a two angle head
wndsnd
These are speed bleeders Jim,

I took them out cause I couldn't get them to work.

John

Click to view attachment

Click to view attachment

Can't get the blur out but you can see the end fitting.
jimkelly
thanks for the pic : )
jimkelly
think I will try the two person - old school style - next.

at least I have some fluid in the system and it is not leaking at every joint smile.gif

this was my first concern.

getting the air out, my next concern.

shuie
I've been fighting with the same issue for the last 3 days. I had no idea you couldn't use the speedbleeders with the Motive. That's how I used to bleed the brakes on my 911. I thought it was about the only way to do it without an extra person. I guess Im going back to the standard bleeders screws.
Elliot Cannon