Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Rear transmission bushing - can't get into 1st or Rev.
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
sfo_pete
Hello Everone,

Newbie here, '75 1.8, was out driving and lost ability to get into first or reverse, found that the rear bushing in the rear shifting linkage had disintegrated. This is the one at the rear fire wall between seat and engine. I think it's this: Shift Linkage Bushing For 964 - New/ReplacementS96442422300

How does this bushing stay in? Any insights appreciated.

Thanks, Peter
bzettner
Time to replace ALL of the shift rod bushings. Not too big of a job. piratenanner.gif
second wind
Just did mine this year and it looked just like yours....gone!! 914 Rubber has all the fixin's and you will become a transmission linkage expert in the process. You will laugh when it is all done and your can shift your car into all gears with only two fingers on the shift knob. Get to it!!
gg
sfo_pete
Got this out today, noticing my coupler does not separate from rear shifting rod as shown in the parts diagram and as in so many of the posts, why is that? Fan shroud re-attached too. Again, thanks all, can't wait to shift with 2 fingers...
Tdskip
The other one is a 911 coupler, yours looks correct.
second wind
Do some hard damn work and extra effort and you will get it....you will need a big vise and some ingenuity....and a bunch of some beautiful grease and a bunch of some brand new parts...some assembly required....get too it!!! You will be very happy at the end....a 914 happy ending....worked for me:)
Dr Evil
Wow, ya, surprised you had any gears. Heat the firewall bushing in boiling water to soften, then smoosh it in place. It will cool and harden up. Dont burn yourself.
DRPHIL914
QUOTE(sfo_pete @ Sep 7 2020, 10:07 PM) *