Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Mrdezyne's Suby convert thread....
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Pages: 1, 2
mrdezyne
I have really enjoyed following progress threads of others that are doing swaps to the Suby power plant. I have learned so much and avoided problems early on due to the information presented by fellow Suby converts here on the board. Thank you all.

With that said, I thought it was time to get my own going and maybe help fill in any gaps that other might be curious about. I am just learning as I go so most of you know tons more than I do about both Subaru engines and 914 workings than I do at this point.

The project"

1973 914 with minimal rust and a 14 year old 1.7 liter FI, stock.
Overall this car was in pretty good shape when I loaded it up on the trailer in Stillwater Ok and brought it home to Tulsa. It had been sitting in a garage since 1989-90 due to losing oil pressure, nothing had ever been checked or tried, they just parked it inside and let the years of dust and other stuff collect on top of it. Yeah for me!

Transplant for power is a 2004 EJ25 SOHC with 16k. Something like 165 hp stock and I am hoping to squeeze around 180 out of it with mild mods. Cams and such might come later which could pop it up over 200hp. Engine was in good shape when I bought it but needed timing belt and covers, and a new tensioner (since I screwed the original one up trying to compress it). Waiting on Kennedy plate and flywheel now.

17x7 front 17x9 rear, waiting for Bontempi flares for the rear...... as she sits of yesterday....
mrdezyne
Quick shot of the engine....
Aaron Cox
what wheels are those?

nice project
mrdezyne
They are a Honda bolt pattern with adapters. Took some searching to find a staggared set though. You like?
mrdezyne
nother of the fronts and rears.... Anyone need this set of American Racing wheels that came on it? Might be for sale..... I think they are kinda rare.....

nynone4